TN-ASPA announces our 2011 Award recipients

We will continue our tradition of honoring Tennessee administrators at the Awards Luncheon during our day-long Annual Fall Symposium, to be held this year on Dec. 9.

The Hoy Stephenson Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to retired Tennessee administrators, who, during their lifetimes, have made contributions of profound impact to public administration. Through their public service careers, these individuals have improved our society and inspired others.  This year’s honoree is Dennis Dycus, Director of the Division of Municipal Audit, Tennessee Comptroller of the Treasury, who will retire June 30, 2012, after 38 years’ service to the people of Tennessee.  Read more at our Awards page.

The Tennessee Administrator of the Year award is presented to a Tennessee administrator who has made a significant impact during the past year.  The high performance of this individual is notable in its impact on his/her organization and the landscape of Tennessee administration. This year’s award will be presented to Paul Degges, Deputy Commissioner and Chief Engineer of the Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT). Mr.  Degges is the youngest individual to ever hold the position of Chief Engineer, and was appointed Deputy Commissioner in September of 2011.  Mr. Degges has overseen the awarding of more than 2,800 projects with a construction value of more than $5.6 billion.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s