Photo of 2010 Awardees

Our 2010 awardees, Ethel Detch and Commander Robert Nash, speaking at the 2010 Annual Fall Symposium awards luncheon.

Each year, the membership of TN-ASPA honors two public servants in Tennessee who through their work have exemplified the ideals of our organization.

TN ASPA Hoy Stephenson Lifetime Achievement Award–Awarded by the Tennessee chapter of the American Society for Public Administration to retired Tennessee administrators, who, during their lifetimes, have made contributions of profound impact to public administration. Through their public service careers, these individuals have improved our society and inspired others.

TN ASPA Administrator of the Year–The Tennessee Administrator of the Year Award is awarded by the Tennessee chapter of the American Society for Public Administration to the Tennessee administrator who has made a significant impact during the past year of the highest order. The high performance of this individual is notable in its impact on his/her organization and the landscape of Tennessee administration.


Year Lifetime Achievement Administrator of the Year
2013 Norman Wright, Director, Development Services, City of Columbia Tom Fleming, Assistant to the Comptroller of the Treasury for Assessments, Comptroller’s Office, State of Tennessee
2012 Donna Nicely, former Director of the Nashville Public Library Timothy R. Discenza, Chief Disciplinary Counsel to the Tennessee Court of the Judiciary
2011 Dennis Dycus, Director of the Division of Municipal Audit, Tennessee Comptroller of the Treasury Paul Degges, Deputy Commissioner and Chief Engineer of the Tennessee Department of Transportation
2010 Ethel Detch, former Director of Research and Education Accountability, Tennessee Comptroller of the Treasury Commander Robert Nash, East Precinct Commander, Metropolitan Nashville Police Department
2009 JoAnn North, former Davidson County Property Assessor Mike Morrow, Director, Office of Tennessee Recovery Act Management